Lost something?


Today we celebrate the feast day of a man who for my family is indispensable. In fact, the older my family becomes, the more we need him around.

Eyeglasses all of a sudden AWOL from one’s nightstand, coffee cups  no longer where we left them, car keys mysteriously missing from  their hook, an expense check I know I put in the cupboard for safe keeping is no longer there, or the almost daily search for the missing purse – life would not be manageable without St. Anthony of Padua.

Saint Anthony

Saint Anthony (Photo credit: elycefeliz)

And he has yet to let me down. I know exactly who to ask for help when a certain watch isn’t found for a few days or the necklace  that I know I put somewhere safe but then can’t seem to remember where to find the safe place.  My family  heard this prayer recited so often in fact when they were growing up they would start humming the lead in to the Ghostbusters theme song and say  “Hey Mom, who you gunna call? Saint Anthony!”  And then they would join me is saying the simple, yet effective, prayer.

“St. Anthony, St. Anthony, please come around, my ________ is lost, and it needs to be found”.  (And we all know to thank him when it is found!)

Over the years, I have learned to be patient. Although the lost item is usually found in a relatively short period of time, there have been instances where it has taken him a tad longer.  Some things just are better at hiding than others.

About Carol Bannon

Member of iCatholic community, Catholic Writers Guild, married with 4 children. Author of A Handshake From Heaven, a Catholic book on the Eucharist and the Handshake From Heaven Lesson Plan Book, currently available through Amazon. Also a contributor to Catholic Mom and an avid reader.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

