A Daughter’s Re-Posted Thoughts


I will admit I check Facebook only a few times a week…usually when I haven’t heard from my far-flung “children” and want to know what they are up to. I believe one daughter called it “slooping” – slang in their world for being a sleuth and snooping. Guess I have become a sloop. Ah well, I have been called worse.

Anyway, today she posted this lovely picture with the caption “If that one little thing didn’t happen…”

And that’s when I realized my children do understand how perfectly in tune God is with each one of us. IF I didn’t live in Birmingham Michigan in the 60’s, and IF I hadn’t met my girlfriend Michele at Marian High School in the 70’s, and the IF I hadn’t been at the school parking lot when her brother picked her up on his vacation break from school…and IF her mother didn’t make her older brother take me out on a “pity” date because I had been stuck in the house with “the kissing disease” – well, the list can go on and on.

Forty years later we are still in love, having weathered many storms together.

We have these four wonderful children, and now an even more wonderful grandson, because God saw fit to bless us with each other. And, at specific moments in time, our children were conceived…unique because of the precise second of conception. Three seconds later – and who knows? All I know is that I truly believe we are not here due to some cosmic fluke.

We are placed where we are supposed to be by a loving God who has plans for each one of us. What occurs to us during “life” is not through fate, but by His loving design…although to be perfectly honest, there have been many times during “life” that I wish He had used a bit more discretion as to what He wanted me to experience. In other words, there have been times when I wish He had asked my opinion before allowing certain “experiences” to occur – but His Will Be Done are not just words we utter in the Our Father prayer. They are meant to be words we live by. Words I feel we are better able to live by as we grow older, and yes, wiser.

Because as my daughter’s re-post aptly noted: If that one “little” thing had/hadn’t happened, things would be so different.

About Carol Bannon

Member of iCatholic community, Catholic Writers Guild, married with 4 children. Author of A Handshake From Heaven, a Catholic book on the Eucharist and the Handshake From Heaven Lesson Plan Book, currently available through Amazon. Also a contributor to Catholic Mom and an avid reader.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

